Well I did as asked, and TRIED to be around the music scene.
Let me clarify here, I do not care about music. Even if a band I loved came to
town, I would not go see them, just don’t care. My brother, now he loves music. I am not into Jazz or the
local music scene here. This is nothing against NOLA, this is all me. Yes, some
are amazingly good, truly, just doesn’t mean anything to me. Music doesn’t
speak to me. I never try to read into what they are singing about or take it
literally. I cannot get wrapped up in it and be consumed with it. Same with
politics or religion. So tonight, after our “release” I had simply planned on
just walking back to the hotel and getting something to eat along the way. I
should have listened to my inner voice and gone with my first thought. However,
I had forgotten that Eryn and Ashley, who found me and “reminded me” to go with
them to a bar to hear a band. Eryn was very capable of reading the expression
on my face. She knows exactly how I feel about these places. I do not blame
them though. Smart. Don’t be alone around here. So off we went. Today has been
rough on my lungs, I have been around so much cigarette smoke that I’m fried,
my throat hurts and lungs are screaming, this increased my mood exponentially. We
went first into Vaso but it was literally too loud so we left, now they knew I
was hungry but at this point I would’ve waited a month to eat just to get away.
However, I let them pick the options and was just along for security, or as they
say as a friend. Next, we went to Maison, well they had to check to see if they
could get in as they are under 21. Well just my luck they let them in. Did I
forget to mention the #@%#& who touched me outside of Vaso? So, we get
seated in Maison and wait for service…and wait…and, guess what? We wait, so yes,
we leave. This was their choice and I double checked with them for good measure,
and received the “I’m so ready to go look”. I mean this is for them so whatever
they wanted. We decide to walk back to the hotel but find a place to eat on the
way. Willy’s Chicken to the rescue. They had drinks and I ordered the chicken
even though I wanted shrimp. Hey, it’s Willy’s Chicken. The girls shared some
of my fries and the biscuit was honey glazed, so good. The strips were also
larger and meatier than I would ever find back home. Tonight was a good
reminder of why I don’t drink or frequent bars. It just means nothing to me. It
also ensures that it will be another 50 years before I screw up like that again
and go in one. I do listen to music I like but it is not loud, it’s just on,
tonight was an assault on my auditory system. Especially Vaso, that was
ridiculous. To be fair, in Maison the trombone player was incredible!
No comments:
Post a Comment