Friday, January 6, 2017



Can I just say one word…rain. My mortal enemy, my perfect nemesis. She has followed me to NOLA. I thought I kept my travels a secret too. Miserable day, however, it also produced the highlight of the trip. The pharmacy museum! First off, the place is just full of so much pharmaceutical history. It’s fun to see what was in use and what (gasp) still is! Knowing that the bottles on the shelves still contain the original powders, creams, plants and other “medicinal” concoctions is unbelievable. I can remember as a kid digging up those old small blue bottles in the back yard. Seeing how big syringes were back then (hell no) you’re not giving me a shot. Now, the true highlight of the pharmacy tour was the guide! He was not only very knowledgeable about his subject but he also used tons of humor. The best tour here so far. I would recommend it to anyone, above any other. It made the tour seem not to drag on and the history was pertinent to the story. Have I mentioned it has been just a deluge of rain all day? Ya, well it is. We started the day off at the Cabildo Museum in Jackson Square. See, this is how I like to spend my travels. If it weren’t for the group I would still be there reading every single plaque. Three floors of pure history to consume my brain, and imagination. There is vast evidence that the museum is sinking or leaning, just by looking at the staircase and the outer walls. We were supposed to do an art walk today but it is a 35-degree wall of rain, the streets are flooded and building here have no guttering of any kind so it is a waterfall off most store fronts. The wind is also very driving today, so it just adds to my perceived misery. We did go into the the Rodrique Gallery and see more of his work up close. I think it’s just the bright colors of his work that attracts me to them. We saw more of his art beside the blue dog, it is good artistically but I’ll stick with the dog paintings. Lunch was at La Divan CafĂ©, I got a full sized Muffaletta and of course followed that up with a large Italian Cherry Gelato. No guilt in my veins. I can break my nutrition plan for my first vacation in 6 years. Well went to the mall tonight and did some speed shopping with Edi, that’s what I’m talking about, in and out! Nice spacious mall with huge stores. Clean! So out to dinner with Eryn and Ashley, went to …yes, Maspreos again. Another awesome shrimp dinner and that sweet caramel bread pudding dessert. Katy wasn’t around to help me devour it this time, so sad. I had two drinks also, yes true story folks. Two. Have to have something to get me through these blogs. Hey I saw the teachers wine tasting so…

No comments:

Post a Comment